Bloat Treatment

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by NigerianDwarfOwner707, Jun 2, 2018.

1. NigerianDwarfOwner707

NigerianDwarfOwner707 Well-Known Member

May 17, 2018
    East Coast, USA
    NOTE: So I am going to start by saying that I have two wethers so any and all answers to my question should be answers specifically (or at least included with) for wethers. Thanks!

The most common bloat treatment is baking soda drench, or free choice baking soda. But I have boys, and I know that baking soda de-acidifies the urine making them more susceptible to urinary calculi. So I am wondering what to do if I notice that one of my goats is bloated, other than giving baking soda.

2. Lnegoatobsessed

Lnegoatobsessed Member

May 21, 2018
    I saw a YouTube video using Dr pepper. Maybe look it up? After I saw it I decided to keep it in mind. I'm new to goats so take what I say with a grain of salt.

3. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

You can use baking soda if they are actually bloated. You just don't want to put it out free choice.

goatblessings likes this.
  4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    I agree, give the baking soda, as needed.

5. aJadeMagnolia

aJadeMagnolia Member

May 17, 2018
    Baking soda long-term is not a good idea for goats. But bloat is considered an emergency and can be serious so a temporary buffering of the proper acidity wouldn't be as much of a concern in an acute case of bloat.

There are many causes of bloat, and there are other treatment options. If you see a goat overeat, or if there has been a "grain raid" where they got into a bag or container and ate more than their normal ration, then the best thing to do is to try prevent the bloat from occurring in the first place. Administering ClostridEaze in such a case would be ideal for this. GI Soother by Fir Meadow also helps.