Bloat!!!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by PotterWatch, Mar 28, 2009.

1. PotterWatch

PotterWatch New Member

Jan 23, 2009
    So. California
    Bella has bloat. I stupidly did not notice until after she had had her grain during evening milking. I had just got home from working for 13hrs and wasn't paying close enough attention. She has some rumenal sounds (is that what you call it?), and through walking, massaging, oil, and baking soda, we have gotten her to burp quite a number of times but she still looks really big and isn't acting her normal self. At what point can I stop walking her around and rubbing her to get her to burp? We tried tubing her (my husband is a paramedic and we looked up diagrams and such online first), but it didn't seem to release any gas. Is there anything else we can do? She is one of my first goats, we have had them since November, so I am totally new at this and very worried we will lose her to this.

2. Crissa

Crissa New Member

Oct 7, 2007
    Cashion, Oklahoma
    I sure wish I could help. :( But I will be praying! :pray:

3. bheila

bheila New Member

Jan 9, 2009
    Kent, Wa
    25cc of Milk of Magnesia or 30cc-60cc of oil but I don't know if it's mineral or vegetable. How much oil did you give her? I posted on BYC for you too.

ETA: I'm no expert just something I read on another goat website.

4. sparks879

sparks879 New Member

get as much baking soda in her as you can, handfuls of it. The walking is great keep her moving. dont let her lay down. You can try poking a needle into her rumen but i have only done that in an absolute emergency....just keep doing what your doing.
    beth

5. PotterWatch

PotterWatch New Member

Jan 23, 2009
    So. California
    Does the baking soda still work if I make it into a thin paste and then give it to her? It's much easier to do that than try and get the balls of it down.

6. Thanatos

Thanatos New Member

Mar 16, 2009
    Lake Ariel, Pa