Blue udders and an Ill doe

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Meepsforkeeps, Jul 12, 2020.

1. Meepsforkeeps

Meepsforkeeps Member

Jul 12, 2020
    Pennsylvania
    Hey everyone..I'll introduce myself later...I'm new to goats (like a week new) I have nigerian dwarf/nubian mix 3 year old doe. Bought her literally one week ago today. She had a buck and he was weaned..At least 3 weeks possibly longer. Well her udders are turning blue. Going to attach pictures. Can anyone tell me I'm crazy and it's nothing to worry about or what do I do? The bottom of her bum is kinda blue also..pretty sure it was pink. Thanks so much in advance!

2. Meepsforkeeps

Meepsforkeeps Member

Jul 12, 2020
    Pennsylvania
    Also it is not hot or hard. Tried to milk and not a thing came out

3. Damfino

Damfino Well-Known Member

Dec 29, 2013
    Right behind you
    Hmm... I'm not really seeing blue. It seems like kind of just a natural darkening that sometimes occurs. It could also be dirt mixing with the natural oils on her body. If she was washed before you got her, that's bound to happen, or you may just have darker dirt than where you got her from. The udder isn't cold is it? Truly blue udders are usually cold to the touch because the goat got gangrenous mastitis, which is quite serious. But her udder looks healthy so I don't suspect mastitis. If her kid was weaned 3-4 weeks ago she probably doesn't have milk because she's drying up.

toth boer goats and Ashlynn like this.
  4. Meepsforkeeps

Meepsforkeeps Member

Jul 12, 2020
    Pennsylvania
    Thank you so much! That's what I have read is..that gangrene is to be cold. But its just body temp. I've had mastitis..I figured she would react alot more to me pulling on her if it was. I'm still wondering if I should have her checked..just to put my mind at ease and spend a bunch of money for no reason. I also wiped her off and the color dowsnt change so.

5. MuldrowBeeandGoatFarm

MuldrowBeeandGoatFarm Well-Known Member