Boarding Mini Goat Questions - Newbie Here

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Brent Jorgensen, Sep 30, 2020.

1. Brent Jorgensen

Brent Jorgensen New Member

Sep 30, 2020
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Hi everyone, I found this awesome page through a Google search and I'm excited to learn about Goats!

My wife and I finally found 10 acres of land we can build our home on and start building the animal sanctuary we have wanted to have for many years now. Someone has already come up to us and asked us about Boarding their 10-15 mini goats on our property that happens to have a barn and pasture area already set up. They are here on a temporary job assignment and want to bring their mini goats with them until the job is done and they can go back home. Here's the deal, I know absolutely nothing about Goats, I mean nothing! I do know how to operate a business but I do not know how to come up with prices for boarding. They have stated that they will take care of the feeding and care of the Goats on a daily basis as they are very therapeutic for them. The contract will have to be very detailed in the specifics of what is responsible from each party.

Any insight, experiences, fails and success stories are welcome!

MadHouse likes this.
  2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

So it sounds like they are just using your property? Is there electric and water? Do you have to pay for the electric and water? Do you have farm insurance?

Brent Jorgensen and MadHouse like this.

3. goatblessings

goatblessings Fair-Haven Supporting Member

Jan 5, 2015
    Southwest Ohio
    Don't let any animal on your property without having EACH goat tested for CL and Johnes. These diseases can live in the soil for YEARS and you don't want to have a problem. Make sure it's current testing and that they physically show you the paperwork for EACH goat. IMO - boarding is a nightmare. What if they don't care for them properly - etc. I wouldn't.