The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I am completely new to the percentages, and highly confused....
I bought a 98% doeling and I am looking to add a registered buckling. From what I understand, breeding bucks have to be fullblood per ABGA guidelines to create percentage offspring....
The buckling I am interested in buying is registered at 99.9%....what percentage kids would I get if I bred him to a 98% doe?
Should I invest in him or continue searching for a fullblood buck? He’s only .1% off but I will be making a huge trip to pick him up. He will be my first registered buck.
Thank you!

·
Super Moderator
83,097 Posts
First, make sure his sire has DNA on ABGA file.

You will never have 100 % (FB) boer if you have a high percentage buck. 99.9% is all you will achieve.

I honestly would want a FB 100% boer buck.

Then, you can get some FB does eventually and still have your percentages.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
First, make sure his sire has DNA on ABGA file.

You will never have 100 % (FB) boer if you have a high percentage buck. 99.9% is all you will achieve.

I honestly would want a FB 100% boer buck.

Then, you can get some FB does eventually and still have your percentages.
Thank you! I'm going to continue looking for a fullblood and familiarizing myself with how this complicated process works!

·
Registered
14,606 Posts
Lol it is very complicated!
So what your looking at is get sire and dams percentage and add together. So in this case you have a 99+98 and it comes out to 197. Now divide that by 2 and you get 98.5. So those offspring will be 98.5%.