The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got a boer buckling a couple months ago. He was nice and stalky when I got him. I'm not sure what happened, I brought him home and fed him our feed (which is similar to what he was eating before) and hay (clover/grass/ some alfalfa). His winter coat looks like a completely different color, like very light....also extremely soft like a bunny. He also looks very bloated...but he isn't. I've given him stuff to try and get what looks like gas out, but nothing happens. He's acting fine and normal and his poop is fine...I just don't like the way it looks because it doesn't look normal. But this is my first time owning goats...and a boer so I don't know what is normal. Do they do this in the winter time? Am I getting worried over nothing? He has been wormed within the last couple months, he was also copper bolused before we got him. Everything is right as rain....he just looks so different.

·
Registered
11,199 Posts
Hi and welcome !

Are you able to post photos of the buckling in question?

Do you know how much he weighed at weaning or purchase and can you pick him up and weigh him on your bathroom scale now?

Tell us his age too.

The soft light colored bunny fur is "cashmere" which grows in the winter and sheds in spring. Some genetic lines of Boer goats carry a very heavy cashmere.

Since it's has been several months since he was dewormed or bolused, he may be due again. We should see in the photos.

What is his FAMACHA score?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·