The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Rose Creek Acres
376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:ponder:
I have done a lot of looking around on this site, and I have heard so many things about so many feeds but never at the same time. :chin:I have heard about...
Noble goat Grower
Noble goat (maintance/non medicated)
Calf Manna
BOSS
Hay, etc...
Because I am new to this meat goat thing, I am wondering which one, or combination of these have people had the best luck with, and how much/when (ages) do you give it? I understand some are supplements to the feed. Another question that comes to mind is at what point do you stop/start feeding medicated feed?

As I said, I have Boers, and a boer buck to make hardy meat crosses. (open to suggestions on good meat breeds/crosses also) I hope to get a few Kinders this spring for milk and cheese.

Thanks for your assistance, and knowledge! :) It is much appreciated :cool:

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
I'm not sure if you are showing or just breeding but I feed my 9 boer wethers just noble goat (we had a grass fire so no pasture for them anymore) and I have two 6 month boer doelings and they eat purina goat chow along with show bloom and essential show doe feed

·
Colorful Quality Boers
6,648 Posts
We feed all of the above!

Everybody has their own feed plan though and I can't think of another farm who feeds the same as the other... Finding the right feed that works for your herd is a trail and error process. :)

We give Noble Goat Grower (medicated) to all of our goats... bucks, does adults and kids. Calf Manna is given for extra weight gain, so we feed that to our 0-3 month kids until sold or if we are going to keep/show them they get it all through the show season. Our lactating does or thin does who we want to get more weight on will get it as well.

Our "show goats" get Noble Goat, Calf Manna and a filler grain that's just a 12% Allstock. And free fed alfalfa.