The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(I wasent sure if i should put this in this section or not?)

Im new to boers and have had them for only a few months. I have a 6 month old buckling, a 3 month old doe, and two 5 year old does. Im not showing them but plan on selling kids at the goat sale so im trying to get them looking good but they don't have to be awesome. (If that makes any sense lol :p ) If there is any tips on raising and caring for them that yall could give me that would be great. :) Like what feed and how much to give to growing kids or how much they should be growing or anything like that. Are they easy to take care of and keep healthy? Alot of people are telling me how sickly they get?

Thank you guys. :)

·
14,615 Posts
Is your buckling going to stay that way?
What are you feeding now?
I don't believe for one minute that Boers get sicker anymore than any other breed, it has to do with management & proper worming at the right time with the right wormer in the right doses.
A good 17% feed for growing kids. All mine get free choice 3rd cut alfalfa year round.
And don't forget loose minerals with high copper content.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I got the buck from a different breeder than the girls. Right now hes sharing a field with my woods goat (mixed breed) buck away from all the girls. Im hoping to raise him and have him as my sire for the boer does next year if it all works out.. :)

Right now he is on hay pasture and alfalfa pellets but i want to add grain to it but dont want to give him UC. I give them manna pro loose mineral and it says it has ammonium in it but im not sure if its enough? Another thing ive heard you want to balance protein and fat and all the other factors in there feed but i haven't figured that out yet, how does that work? Thank you. :)

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·