The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all... I'm fairly new to goats (a year in). I have 2 adult nigerians, and just got a new doeling to add to the herd (from a clean CAE/CL/J tested closed herd), but have kept her separate from my other 2 because they have never been tested and I'm learning that's something I should have already done just as precaution and responsible goat ownership.
Test results just came back on the nigerians (Pan American Vet labs):
(both are healthy, no symptoms)
Mother (4 years old):
CAE: Borderline
CL: Borderline
Johnes: Borderline

Daughter (1 year old):
CAE: Negative
CL: Negative

I'm so confused. I was expecting just a "yes" or "no", but I've read the forums now and see that borderlines/suspect results are a thing and that I'll need to retest both of them in 30 days. The new doeling has been living on the porch in "quarantine" because we expected to be able to add her into the goat pen once the results came back clear. So I guess we now have a porch goat for at least another 30 days? And if the tests come back borderline again, then what? Cull them both even without a positive? We don't breed or show, these are just-for-fun pets that we're quite attached to.

Also, with the daughter having a negative for CAE, shouldn't that mean the mother is negative too? She has nursed for literally the whole year of her life.
And could they both really have Johnes? They are fat and happy.
Ugh. Don't know what to do now!

·
Registered
11,199 Posts
As long as the new doeling never ever nurses off either adult, she won't get CAE. As long as neither adult goat ever has an active abcess, the doeling won't contract CL. So really the last concern is Johnes.