Bottle Boer babies, lots of questions!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by RuckersGoats, Jun 1, 2018.

1. RuckersGoats

RuckersGoats New Member

Jun 1, 2018
    Hi everyone. I am new here, so I hope I'm doing this right, but here goes...

I am new to owning goats... or livestock of any kind. My husband and I were both city kids until we could finally get moved out of town to an acreage of our own in Southwest Nebraska. So I have ZERO experience raising goats other than what I have learned on the fly or read on the Internet or in books... in fact, I've come here a lot to read thru threads and get help or ideas, which is why I finally joined. So my back story is this, in the spirit of honesty...
    3 years ago we bought 2 boer does, sight unseen, thru an acquaintance. They were healthy, normal goats when they arrived and we had no issues for a whole year. They were also almost a year old when we got them. Fast forward to July of last year and one of my furry weed-eaters suddenly (in the middle of the night on a Saturday) went down. I called the same acquaintance that had helped us purchase them (he does own many goats and breed and know a lot about them) and he came out and helped me get her on her feet and "diagnose" her with a very heavy worm load... she was on the road to recovery but to be safe I did go to my vet and discuss what had happened with him and he sent me home with more meds to give her several days after her initial illness. Up until that point we had had ZERO issues with either of them and I simply did not know about all the dewormers and vaccinations and meds they needed (or I needed to have on hand) and didn't give them anything for the first full year because they were fine. My bad, I know.