The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings, I will be getting my first 2 Toggenburg goat newborn kids this Friday. I will be bottle feeding them to raise as future packers. The breeder suggested I let them nurse for the first 24 hours to get the vital colosstrum from the mother before I take them home. Do you think this would be a good idea? I've heard other opinions to take the kids right away. I plan on abundant daily interaction, and training to bond with them. Any experience with this would be much appreciated.
Thanks, Goat Vader

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice Rex. My family has deep roots in the cattle business. My grandfather called a calf a doogy if it didn't get the mothers first milk. I've heard of colostrum substitues, but I highly doubt it is as good? I'm a newbie to pack goats, and am looking forward to learning all about them.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks, Evies Togg farm out of Oakville, WA maintains a CAE negative herd. Evelyn is highly knowledgable, and has been very helpful. Having a quality breeder close to my home is one of the reasons I chose Toggenburgs. I hope to end up with a doe, and a whether. Down the road, I was thinking of breeding my Togg with an Alpine, Oberhasli, or other dairy breed? I need to look into that further, as I don't know what would be the best cross. Here is the web site to Evie's Togg Farm.

http://eviestoggs18.tripod.com/

·
Registered
98 Posts
The only thing I might be concerned about would be switching them to using a nipple. No personal experience on this but have been told that once they get used to nursing off the dam they don't like to switch to a bottle. But the dam's colostrum is much better for them than any store bought colostrum or replacer.