The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I would like to get a couple wethers and bottle feed them. Problem is I’m a nurse and work 12 hour shifts. How many times a day do kids needs to be fed. If I cant get goat milk replacer, would whole cow milk from the grocery store work?

·
Registered
1,911 Posts
Whole milk is better than milk replacer in most cases. I use it all the time and have had no problems at all.

As for feeding. That depends how old they are. From 1-4 weeks I usually feed 4 times a day. Once every 4 hours. 4-6 weeks, 3 times a day. Once every 5 hours. 6-8 weeks, 2 times a day. Once in the AM once in the PM I feed my bottle kids for a long time so from 8-25 weeks I feed once a day. Most people will wean or start weaning at 8 weeks, so you can lower by 1/2oz per day and feed them an extra bottle if they aren't catching on to food well.

That said, I know someone who feeds kids only twice a day from 1-8 weeks. I personally don't think that is best for the kids though. There is also bucket feeding them. Some people leave milk(cold) out in a bucket for them to drink 24/7 and I heard that works well. I've never tried it though, so can't be of much help on how that works.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Whole milk is better than milk replacer in most cases. I use it all the time and have had no problems at all.

As for feeding. That depends how old they are. From 1-4 weeks I usually feed 4 times a day. Once every 4 hours. 4-6 weeks, 3 times a day. Once every 5 hours. 6-8 weeks, 2 times a day. Once in the AM once in the PM I feed my bottle kids for a long time so from 8-25 weeks I feed once a day. Most people will wean or start weaning at 8 weeks, so you can lower by 1/2oz per day and feed them an extra bottle if they aren't catching on to food well.