The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
I'm a spinning teacher....

You need to skirt it if you haven't done it already
Wash (basically a soak in soapy water then soak in clean water) unless it's dirt free.
Then you can spin right from the lock or you can card the locks into "roving" or comb the locks into "top"
Then spin the yarn.

Is it a kid fleece?

·
goatmama36
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm a spinning teacher....

You need to skirt it if you haven't done it already
Wash (basically a soak in soapy water then soak in clean water) unless it's dirt free.
Then you can spin right from the lock or you can card the locks into "roving" or comb the locks into "top"
Then spin the yarn.

Is it a kid fleece?
Thank you for your answer, the doe is just over a year old, can you describe the combing into top?
I was going to try to drop spin this ( is that correct terminology?) as well.

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
If you do a search on YouTube about combing fleece you'll get a better idea of how it works.

Skirting a fleece is all about taking off any yucky or poopy bits. Sometimes shearers will skirt as they shear. there isn't always a lot of yucky stuff on a young goat either

·
Registered
645 Posts
From some one that has 'been there and done that' the hard way.....? You would save yourself a lot of time (and thus $) if you would skirt it, then send it in to Fantasy fibers for processing and tell them what you want the end product to be. The cost is well worth not trying to do it on your own.

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
I respectfully disagree. I process through many fleeces of all kinds each year. It is a personal preference if one likes to process their own. One never knows until they try. I love hand processed and doing it all myself. There is a learning curve like in anything but you don't know if you want to learn until you try.

·
Registered
179 Posts