Breeding all year round?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by cypressfarms, Aug 3, 2009.

1. cypressfarms

cypressfarms New Member

Aug 2, 2009
    I'm totally new to goats. I have 10 kiko does that will be delivered around labor day, and a couple of other percentage does. So do most people run their buck with the does year round, or only let the bucks with the does a certain time of the year? I've heard that most meat breeds can kid year round, but I'm not sure of this. Any advice/help would be appreciated.

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    its easier to know when does will be kidding, kikos, boers, and other African breeds can breed year round.

If you want fall butcher kids breed the does in the fall-winter for spring/summer kids, they should be market weight by fall again.

Keep the does and buck separated until you want them to breed, its also easier to put 2-3 in at a time instead of all 10 that way you'll know whos due when, and the buck isnt over working himself. you can also buy a marking harness and that will give you estimated breeding that you can write down...records are key and make everything easier.

3. nancy d

nancy d Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2007
    near Seattle
    Not many breeders let the buck run with the doe all year. If you plan your breedings & write down when they were covered you have a pretty good indication of when they are due like Katrina basically said.
    This yr we are fortunate to have our own buck so you're ahead of the game as far as timing goes!
    Two or three will go in with him for a couple weeks, then the next two or three.
    No more 6 does kidding in 4 days some at the same time; no no no never again!! :hair: