Breeding Issues - Boer Buck on ND Doe

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Kudzu, Aug 30, 2014.

1. Kudzu

Kudzu New Member

Aug 30, 2014
    I recently acquired a Nigerian Dwarf doe (whom I already adore).
    The problem is, it came from someone who keeps and breeds Boers. Their buck (which is a very impressive Boer) had managed to get in with this girl about a month ago(according to them). They were not sure if she had been bred and were not about to spend any money on this situation. After getting her home and a better look, there is no question in my mind she had been bred. Half of her udder is already starting to bag up... I'm also thinking way more than a month pregnant here.

I'm a novice to this and just did not want to see her put down.

My question is; how dangerous is this for her? Is it possible for her to give birth without assistance? How high is that risk? Is it possible to get the pregnancy aborted? I'm okay if I lose the kids (though avoiding this too would be a plus), I just don't want to lose her.

2. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    Welcome to TGS!

Yes, breeding a large breed buck to a mini breed doe is risky and could potentially result in kidding difficulty, however, I've seen it done before which ended in a kidding that went just fine and healthy kids. I would never recommend purposefully crossing a large breed buck to a mini, but accidents happen. I would not have the doe aborted at this point, honestly, that can be more risky than just letting her kid. If she's already got a partially full udder then you'll have kids fairly soon.