The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would really appreciate opinions on this if you have one.

I have an 11 month old Nigerian Dwarf that is absolutely amazing except she has really weird back feet. I need to get pictures. Her hooves curve inward like crescent moons and I need to trim her every two weeks, sometimes more often, and no amount of trimming makes her hooves look "normal". Because of this I decided she shouldn't be bred despite being from amazing lines.

Two of my breeder friends want kids from her and I told them I'm not breeding her because of the feet. Both of them plus one other long-time breeder friend all said they never care about feet, just everything else, especially udders and milk production. I've had goats for a long time but have only officially been breeding since 2019 so I'm a noob in the grand scheme of things.

Is it that common to knowingly breed a goat that has a defect? Their point is it doesn't cause her any pain, she walks normal and has good conformation and could be bred to my buck that has such amazing feet that he only needs to be trimmed twice a year.

I'm totally on the fence. I've had her mom for years and my friend owns her grand dam. Her sire was my buck for a couple of years and none have issues so it is likely just a fluke, but I don't know. If I did end up breeding her and anyone had an issue I would absolutely not register them but it doesn't feel entirely right. Am I overthinking things?

·
Registered
1,740 Posts
Bad feet are bred all the time, for one because some people don’t care or even bother to trim theirs, and for two because those that do trim, just trim them more often and keep them nice so it doesn’t cause problems, like you are doing. In my experience, feet are not a much focused on thing at all, like the friend that told you she never cares about feet. In my opinion that’s not a good thing, but to each their own.