breeding question

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by AlaskaBoers, Sep 6, 2009.

1. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    i've been breeding goats for 4 years and have noticed just this year, the goop.

i have a group of 4 does being bred by a buck, and theyre all in heat and will be together for three days, I noticed that three of the does have a milky colored goop, in the fourth its clear...any thoughts?

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    With my 5 does, when in heat, 2 will have a sticky clear discharge while the other 3 have a whitish color.

3. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    so would they still have that if they were newly impregnanted? they all came into heat when the buck was brought in, and no less than 3-4 hours later theyre all leaking goop, theres only one doe that he's still persistent with, and she's in standing heat but it doesnt look like hes got her quite yet.

someone else thought it was semen leaking out or something like that... :?

so weird I havent noticed this before..

4. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    See, I have noticed the goop on my girls heats months before they are with the buck...and once with the buck, the pooch is all poofy and red looking with a bit more goop....but then again, I hand breed my does with the bucks on leashes so I guess it would be easier to notice as I definately know he covered the doe :shrug:

5. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    went out to feed again tonight, saw him and rose...he mounted and right afterwards she hunched over and walked a few feet, which I hear is a sure sign that he 'got' her. while she was hunched over, a long milky white string of goop came out onto the ground...umm not sure if thats a good sign or not. :? :?

6. nancy d

nancy d Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2007
    near Seattle