The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

· Registered
398 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time ever breeding does on my own. :) Right now I have two 6 year old boer does in with a 10 month old boer buck. When i first got him he was VERY "Bucky" and he was only a few months old and it was in may. But now he's not interested at all? They have been together since we got him and the does weaned their old kids in march. Is it just because he is young?

Then i have two other mixed breed does, one is a year old and this will be her first time kidding and another is 2 and this will be her 2nd time kidding. They have been in with him too and still no pregnancies. I have the choice of sending these two to a friends to stay with their older mixed breed buck until they are bred, which with experience from this way it only takes them being gone a month or 2 at the most. The thing is i would love to breed them with my buck but if there is a small chance that they will kid before June next year (when i aim for births :) ) then i would be fine with sending them off.

That was really confusing when i was rereading it but my brains not working with me right now lol. The boer does are staying with my buck kids or no kids but the other two are my problem. Sorry if its hard to understand... What would yall do in this case? Chance it with a nice buck? Or have a definite pregnancy with a decent buck?

· Registered
398 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·