Breeding Sire to Daughter

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by Mini Goat Lover, Jan 11, 2012.

1. Mini Goat Lover

Mini Goat Lover New Member

May 4, 2011
    Arizona
    I'm planing on keeping one of my buck's daughters this Spring. I don't really want to have to buy another buck though; my family doesn't even like me having just one. I just read an article in the Dwarf Digest about the pros and cons of inbreeding and it seems like it's not a bad thing as long as the animals are good quality.

So I was wondering if anyone has had experience with inbreeding and how the kids turned out.

2. logansmommy7

logansmommy7 New Member

Nov 11, 2009
    Shenandoah Valley, VA
    I've never done it before myself, but I have always heard that if you are going to 'LINE' breed (note-not 'IN'breed) that doing it from daughter to sire or grand daughter to grand sire, and so on is the best way-if and only if you have two animals that have the potential to improve offspring greatly and have been proven. Now other combinations like mother to son or brother to sister is not recommended...maybe yields bad results more of the time. I get it....good luck with your breeding!

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    It is very risky...

I would find a breeder near by... that will breed her....instead of taking that risk....It may be a really good thing or a big mistake and a wasted 5 months waiting... but it is up to you :hug:

4. TinyHoovesRanch

TinyHoovesRanch New Member

Try to lease a buck or take your doe somewhere else. Id be really nervous doing it that close! Unless you just want pets. But that close of a breeding you need to be really careful!

5. Mini Goat Lover

May 4, 2011
    Arizona
    Thank you for the advice. I think I'm just going to get another buckling next Spring to be on the safe side.

Would there be the same risk with breeding her to her sire's half brother?

6. TinyHoovesRanch