The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Courtney @ Fox Hollow
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am fairly new to goats and have concerns about bringing in a new doe this weekend. I currently have an 8 month old Alpine doe and buck from the same herd. We will be bringing I a year old doe that is from a neighbor of ours and is currently alone :-(
Our 8 month old doe had a 4 month old companion Boer that we lost just a little while ago and she was good with her in the field but not in the stall at all. She seemed to really need her space so we had the little doe in a very large kennel at night right near the big girls stall. The year old will not fit in the kennel and I worry about the two girls really going at it in the stall. We are about a week away from more room in a new barn set up but I would really like to get this doe here so she is not alone any longer.
Any suggestions on bringing these two ladies together?
I love all the great input on this sight and learn so much by just scrolling through the posts. I do hope someone can offer some really constructive advice. Attached in a picture of Willow, our 8 month old doe who came to us a bit thin and she I getting to be in great shape. Excellent demeanor. Sweet as pie!
Just to show him off is a picture of our beautiful buck, Henry!
Thank you and I looks forward to your responses!

Attachments

·
The Belle Farm
27 Posts
Ive introduced a few new does to my original herd consisting of a buck, 2 does and 2 doelings. Im also new to goats for the past 5 months. At first they would push the new doe around and weren't nice to her at all. She hollered a lot for a few days. But after a week or so, they accepted her. I guess they have to establish their dominance. This is a great site. Everyone is so helpful with sharing their experience. Im learning a lot.

·
Registered
3,839 Posts