The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought an alpine/nubian cross doe today. She is 7 and had her kids in April. The woman that owned her was already starting to dry her off but she said that she thought I could bring her back into milk. She's only been home a couple of hours, but I was just giving her a quick going-over while she ate- trimming hooves etc, and I wasn't able to get any milk out whatsoever.. I am a total newbie with milkers, I only have youngsters right now. Any tips for bringing her back into milk?

·
Premium Member
23,224 Posts
IF she has an udder at all, you can start to try bringing her back around by milking her very often... like 4-5 times a day or as often as you can get her onto the stand...each of those times give her alfalfa pellets and only 2x per day give her an allotted grain mix.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
She does have an udder, and it seems like it feels like there's milk in there, but not a lot. Even if no milk is coming out, should I still "go through the motions" each time? How long should I "milk" for if I'm not getting anything?

·
Super Moderator
59,743 Posts
It does make it harder to come back into milk if you don't know how to milk. I would just keep practicing. What are you doing to milk her? I mean how are you trying to milk her?

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It does make it harder to come back into milk if you don't know how to milk. I would just keep practicing. What are you doing to milk her? I mean how are you trying to milk her?
I'm following the instructions I've read/seen that say to "close off" the teat with thumb and forefinger and then squeeze down from there... I thought it was pretty straightforward but I must be doing it wrong because I'm not getting anything, and even when I feel liquid it wants to go back up into the udder...

·
Registered
1,041 Posts