Buck opinions?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by NubianLover, Mar 22, 2011.

1. NubianLover

NubianLover New Member

Sep 19, 2010
    Nebraska
    I am going on a small road trip tomorrow to look at some goats. I am hoping to find a couple does and a buck from this farm. These are just a few photos I have recieved and was wondering if I could get some opinions since I am still learning.
    The one is only 6 months in the photo. He is actually a little older than that now. The other 2 are still only bucklings and twins. All three have great milk lines and show lines. I don't have any other photos from the person other than these.
    Thanks for any opinions :)

Attached Files:

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    first thing I look at is "do they have a brisket? and how is their rear angulation?"

I cant tell from any of the photos if they have a brisket though :( the angles of the photos either on purpose or just how she was able to snap a photo really dont show the front end of any of the bucks real well.

As to the rear angulation the spotted one actually has some which is nice to see. He might be a bit steep in the rump but not overly so. At 6 months he is still very much growing so he looks short bodied but it could be the picture or angle of the picture.

Of course the brown kid looks nicer then his brother due to the one picture but I dont see any advantages or disadvantages to either of them.

3. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    They look good to me too...as mentioned the picture angles aren't the best.....the brown boy... in the middle ....stands out to me.... :wink:

4. fcnubian

fcnubian New Member

Oct 22, 2007
    Not only do you need to look at the bucks but you need to look at their dams....