The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Certified Codger
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have a full-size Nubian doe that I've been milking for about 6 months now, but her milk started having a slight "bucky" taste a couple of weeks ago (before we got a buck). Now we have a buck, and the milk is REALLY bucky. Is there any sort of filter I could run the milk through to remove the offensive smell/taste? Or do I need to keep the buck on a different planet? :laugh:

·
1,524 Posts
My bucks are 4 feet from the milk stand and my milk is fine. (right now my eyes are watering when I milk because they stink so bad!!!) If the milk was bucky before, it may be the way its being handled, a change in feed because of the season or it could be due to a higher % of fat in the milk because it's fall and they usually slow down production about now.

·
Registered
1,040 Posts
Have you tested her for mastitis? Low level (sub-clinical) can make for goaty milk without any other symptoms. As already mentioned changes in feed and such can effect it, but the fact that it started before the buck arrived is good reason to believe it isn't actually related to the buck.

My only doe in milk right now can touch one of my bucks, and he is massively rutty right now, and her milk is still fine....

·
Certified Codger
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I did the dish soap test tonight and got no clumps or slime, so I'm back to square one.

·
Premium Member
23,224 Posts
This is also natural breeding season...the hormones needed for estrus can also affect milk, as well as the stage of lactation.

My does share a fenceline with 3 bucks and have for the last 13 years and I've never had anything but a sweet mild milk from them:)

·
Registered
1,040 Posts
I did the dish soap test tonight and got no clumps or slime, so I'm back to square one.