The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting started into packgoating, and have been fortunate enough to run into a few folks selling some experienced packers for very reasonable prices. Some have been tested CAE free and others are CAE positive, but not showing symptoms. What are my risks with housing the two groups together? Can the CAE positive wethers transmit it to the CAE free ones? Should I house and pasture them seperately? if so, how will they relate with each other on the trail if they dont get the chance to sociallize at home? do i increase the chance of a CAE transfer if I transport them in the same trailer? what about them butting each other with scurs, can they sometimes bleed? I know it is most often passed through mothers milk, but what are other common ways it is transmitted? Does anyone else outhere have mixed herds like this or am i just asking for trouble?

·
Registered
764 Posts
Hello,

CAE is a multi factor disease. You have to take into consideration a lot of things:

- immune status of the positive animals: having tested positive means first and foremost that they have had contact with the virus and have developed antibodies against it. How high is the antibody count? High counts are more cause of concern than low counts - meaning that the virus was active a short while ago and the immune system had to battle it.

- many positive tested animals never develop full blown CAE. Their body will hold the virus in check all of their lives.

- stress and poor housing, management, health care will increase the risk of the CAE becoming active. Some therapies that are supposed to boost the immune system can cause the virus to flare up.