The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to goats and have 4 - 8 week old, soon to be wethers. Yesterday, the lid to the chicken feed was left off and they were out there with it all day. I don't know if they got into it. I noticed just before their bottle time, and the vet suggested I not give them their evening feeding and not allow them to eat their hay through the night. They were all acting fine and trying to continue to forage.

Sleepless night, and this morning they all still seem fine, no sign of bloat or scours. It's been at the minimum 12-13 hours since I discovered the situation, but if they found it, it may have been as long ago as 17 hours ago since they were in their yard without me.

How long until I know for sure they either didn't get into it, or weren't negatively affected by it? The feed is organic and not medicated.

I just want to know when I can stop being sick with worry. The feed is now being kept outside of the yard. I was feeding the chickens before I let the goats out in the morning, and after the goats are in their shed in the evening. But now the feed can't be left in the pen at all, with or without its lid.

Thank you for any information. I'm so stressed.

·
Super Moderator
32,277 Posts
Signs would be bloat, scours (often starts with clumps them moves to scours) belly pain..off feed.
Seems like if you would see issue would have been by now..but caution is wise. I would do hay through today and see how they are tomorrow.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sounds like things are ok. Ususally within the first 24-36 hours they would show signs.