The Goat Spot Forum banner

Can I get some tips for training an adult dairy goat for packing?

2K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  FarmerInaDress 
#1 ·
Sorry for the novel, but I raise dairy goats and I have one French Alpine doe that does not seem to be fertile. I am attached to her and won't sell her, so I want to train her to pack for me. We just took her out today and her temperament seems great for it. She loved it and was very outgoing.

I have zero experience training goats to pack, so I am looking for advice on how to work her up to it. What does she need to be taught? What is the best way to do it? This is a project for fun, so I want it to be enjoyable for all of us.

#2 ·
The most important thing of all is that she enjoys it and isn't afraid to be out with you. I find training a single pack goat at a time is the most rewarding because they bond to you so closely as their hiking herd. They are super easy to train. They aren't bucking broncs like horses. They train by habit and reward. A pocketful of peanuts is a great motivator.

She needs to learn to tie and tether safely, load into the truck, and above all, just take her out as often as you can. Training to saddle is very simple. It's just a matter of putting it on and taking her out first with just the saddle, then adding the panniers after a few times.

For a doe I would recommend the Sophris Rookie saddle. I have a small slight wether shaped much like a doe and the wooden/aluminum saddles give him terrible saddle galls because they just don't fit right. http://www.soprisgoats.com/goatsystem.html
These fit my boy and he can easily carry a full load on it. Unlike other soft saddles, the saddle doesn't squish down. The system has been used on Llamas for almost 20 years.

#5 · (Edited)