Can someone please tell me if my goat is getting ready to ki

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by tomie, Mar 2, 2011.

1. tomie

tomie New Member

Mar 2, 2011
    Ohio
    This is my first time. I am excited and nervous. My nanny goat is due on the 10th of march. I have noticed that her vagina is swollen. She is really cranky and she will not let me touch her so I cannot feel for the ligaments. I also have another goat that is not due until the middle of march and she is having a white discharge. Is this normal? I want to put my nanny up before she kids but I do not want to put her up days ahead of time.

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    Re: Can someone please tell me if my goat is getting ready t

How her user look? Day 150 is the 10? If so then today is 139 so she is safe to kid starting anytime tomorrow

Your other doe sounds to be looking her mucus plug. This can happen weeks to hours before kidding. Each doe will be different

3. tomie

tomie New Member

Mar 2, 2011
    Ohio

Thank you. Do you think I should go ahead and pin the nanny up that is due on the 10th or do you think I should wait? I know that she is going to hate it but it is so cold here still.

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California

If it is cold... then yes.... pen her up....but....if she can be watched.... maybe during the day.....let her out with the others....

5. tomie

tomie New Member

Mar 2, 2011
    Ohio

I just went out and checked on my nannies. The one nanny that had the white discharge is starting to really worry me. The discharge is turning a brownish color. I felt for her ligaments and I do not feel any and she is caved in at the top of her tail. She is not due until the middle of march.

6. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA