Can unhandled kids be friendly?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by mathews, Mar 29, 2008.

1. mathews

mathews New Member

Mar 29, 2008
    First off hello everyone. New to this site and to goats but I'm learning all I can. I'm getting two pygmy kids at weaning in about a month. They are on a farm that is mainly a boer goat breeder. I can see that they are handled very little. Is it possable for me to have them become friendly pets by spending lots of time with them. Or will they always be a bit on the wild side. thanks so much....

2. trailhound

trailhound New Member

Mar 22, 2008
    North Carolina
    I am very new to goats, I just got my first kid one week ago today. She was was a wild child when I got her, at 6 weeks, I don't think she had ever been handled, and now she is just rotten. The first day, she was extremely hard to catch, the next day I had her leash trained better than my dog, and now she is underfoot getting stepped on because she can't stand to be more than ten feet away from me, no leash needed. She comes running when I call.

So, in my opinion (which doesn't mean a lot because this is my first goat), they come around quick, with a little time put in. At first, once I caught her, she was fine to be picked up and carried, and I worked from there. It only took her a day to realize she liked to be scratched and I think that is the real ticket.

I hope that helps and good luck! I will say that this little goat has really captured mine (and my husbands, lol) heart.

3. Tog Lovers

Tog Lovers New Member

Oct 10, 2007
    Greensburg, PA
    Welcome!! I don't think you would have any difficulty getting them used to being handled. They are plenty young enough that if you spend the time with them you shouldn't have any problem.

4. enjoytheride

enjoytheride New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Humboldt Co Ca