Cassius Lymphadenitis Advice

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by bosticrnfa, Jul 20, 2013.

1. bosticrnfa

bosticrnfa New Member

Jul 20, 2013
    Hello Everyone,
    I'm new to the Goat Spot and new to raising goats as well. My youngest daughter is showing a goat and a lamb for FFA this year and we are learning as we go. The first goat that she and her teacher brought home had a huge CL lesion on its lower chest, only visible if he was laying down. The breeder was very understanding when we chose to return it (She did not divulge upfront that she currently had a breakout). We only had him for 7 days and my question is this, what is the best way to treat the pasture that he was in, it's about an acre? Do I burn it? Chemically treat it? I cannot find any info on this and thought I'd ask here. Cannot thank you enough in advance for your infinite wisdom. Thanks~ Deb.

2. AmyBoogie

AmyBoogie New Member

May 20, 2013
    Maine
    Are you sure it was CL? Did the lump break open? If not then you don't likely need to do anything as it's a self contained little thing there until it opens.

If you want to cleanse it for your piece of mind then burning would probably be the easiest for the pasture and any other surfaces can be bleached.

3. happybleats

happybleats Well-Known Member

Sep 12, 2010
    Gustine Texas
    agreed..only the puss is infectious...no need to worry if the CL didnt burst

4. bosticrnfa

bosticrnfa New Member

Jul 20, 2013
    Yes, the capsule was 4" in diameter with a quarter sized open wound that was oozing. Our vet diagnosed it immediately but did not culture it since she was very familiar with CL. We opted not to culture it since we knew we would send the goat back and didn't want to incur the extra expense.

5. happybleats

Sep 12, 2010
    Gustine Texas