Chaffhaye? good? bad? ugly?

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by mlktrkdrvr, Feb 4, 2016.

1. mlktrkdrvr

mlktrkdrvr New Member

Dec 7, 2012
    thinking about getting some chaffhaye for the milk goats and the milk cows. I have never used it before. Is it worth the hype? I have heard that if bags get a hole in them they will go bad very fast. but also heard very good things too. Any opinions or experience welcome.

thanks

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

People seem to really like it.

3. janeen128

janeen128 Well-Known Member

Dec 31, 2012
    Edgewood, WA
    I'm going back to Chaffhaye. I liked it.... My milk girls seem to do good on it... More milk too.... Just remember the whitish stuff I'd yeast not mold, and it's good for them

4. groovyoldlady

groovyoldlady Goat Crazy!

Jul 21, 2011
    Central Maine
    I have no clue what chaffhaye even is... :whatgoat:

5. COgoatLover25

COgoatLover25 Active Member

Dec 23, 2013
    Chaffehay is awesome, although some goats might take some time to get used to it, most goats love it and do really well on it.

6. janeen128

Dec 31, 2012
    Edgewood, WA

http://chaffhaye.com/

7. happybleats

happybleats Well-Known Member

Sep 12, 2010
    Gustine Texas
    My goats love it and do very well on it....best part...no waste!..yes a hole in the bag can cause mold to build or dry it out..just check the bag well before you buy. We get a palllet at a time (40 bags) and it keeps well..even in hot months. If a bag is not used up. .roll it closed tightly to maintain moisture. Also the white goo stuff is yeast not mold... (through my first bag away due to this lol) goats love the yeast.

8. groovyoldlady

groovyoldlady Goat Crazy!

Jul 21, 2011
    Central Maine
    Wow. Groovy! How much does it run per 50 pound bag?

9. janeen128

Dec 31, 2012
    Edgewood, WA