The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
621 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to know what kind of Rennet to buy. This will be my first attempt at making cheese. What is easiest to use, lasts the longest and gives best results? I plan to order from Hoeggers later today. Thanks

·
Super Moderator
59,755 Posts
I'm very new to cheese making and everything I read said it was easier with liquid. So that was what I did and I had success the first time.

I would also encourage new cheesemakers to get "A Cheesemaker's Journey" by Mary Jane Toth. I had bought other books but was just afraid to try. Her steps are so easy to follow and it was wonderful having success the first time around.

·
Goatless goat momma
7,887 Posts
I use vegetarian rennet in pill. I haven't had any issues with it, and you can freeze the tablets that make them last longer.

I don't have any experience with liquid rennet.

I also get my supplies at New England Cheesemaking Supply Company. they sell easy to use kits, and will respond if you have any issues/questions.

·
Registered
621 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I am going to start off easy- just making the mozzarella at first. I am also thinking about getting Thermophilic Starter Culture and the citric acid. Other than the book is there anything else?

·
Goatless goat momma
7,887 Posts
I don't have a book. www.cheesemaking.com website has great recipes. I just go by that. I've made their 30 min mozzarella with goats milk with great success. i'm horrible at pulling cheese (very heavy handed), so the final product wasn't professional, but very edible and tasty!

I've also bought their yogurt cultures that were great. but now I just make kefir.

·
Registered
718 Posts
DANG IT! I asked the same question the other day and got different (and fewer) replies. I bought the tablets as they had a much longer shelf life. I think it said they were good for 2yrs, where the liquid said it was good for 6mo if properly refrigerated.