chickens & goats sharing digs

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by cdtrum, Aug 28, 2008.

1. cdtrum

cdtrum New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    Ok....I am new to this wonderful goat world and unexperienced, though I have read so much info over the past year before taking the leap in their world.....I still feel so loss. Anyway, my question goats and chickens are sharing the same yard right now until my husband gets home this their anything my goats could catch by being in the same yard and walking where the chickens poop? My chickens are healthy to my knowledge, I use food grade DE in my barnyard and coops and barns.....I have been told it is a great natural wormer, so I always put in in their feed. I know I am just worrying myself silly, but I keep reading about all these illnesses and it makes me worry.....from pink eye, cocci, bloat, ect.......the man I bought them from had a very nice facility and his herd appeared very healthy...he told me that the vet had just been out and wormed and gave yearly shots....but, once we got home I found lice on one.....which I treated both kids with 5% sevin wouldn't you think that the vet would have seen the lice? I also do not know what shots they received....I didn't think to ask.....I just figured like my dogs they get yearly, I do know that they did not get the one for overeating, he says he never gives that to his goats. We had planned on waiting until spring to get goats, but then these just happened upon us and we couldn't say no.
    Thanks for reading my ramblings and any advice is appreciated.......Denise from Indiana
  2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    the only thing I would worry about is the goats eating the chicken feed especially if it drops on the ground.

Make sure there is water available that the chickens cant get to --- chickens love to dirty their water and that can be deadly to young kids.

It probably was their tetanous shot