Choosing Keeper Dairy Doe Kids

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by SundewFarms, Oct 11, 2017.

1. SundewFarms

SundewFarms Member

Sep 23, 2014
    Weldon, CA
    What criteria do you guys personally use when deciding which doe kids to keep and which to sell? I'm having a heck of a time trying to decide with my own kids. Do you mainly base it on the appearance of the kid herself, or on the udder/production of her dam and sire's dam? Or some thing else? I need some ideas on how to narrow it down.

Last year, I didn't have many does born, and I was able to keep everything, freshen them out as yearlings, and then make keep/cull decisions after I saw their udder. This year; however, I'm a bit inundated with doelings, and I have to make some cull decisions. I'm still very new at evaluating dairy goats, and I feel I might be a bit barn-blind, since I can evaluate other people's goats, but then struggle to do my own.

Can anyone share some helpful tips?

2. Goats Rock

Goats Rock Member

Jun 20, 2011
    NE Ohio
    It is hard for me to decide who to sell. I had 93 kids born this year. 50+ were does. I try and decide when I breed who's doe kid I will keep. Then, I look at the doe and her new kid and go from there. Right now I have 30 doe kids, I really only should keep 15-20. They are all 6-8 mo. old. The first to go will be the annoyances, then those with poor estruchions, poor teat placement, hard keepers, ones that get colds easy, the escape artists, the jump on me girls, (especially after repeated lessons on "down"), the ones I just don't really like (how silly is that?), etc.

Unfortunately, most are from good milk and show lines. Sometimes I just toss a coin. It is hard to sell good kids!

SalteyLove and ArborGoats like this.

3. mariarose

mariarose Well-Known Member

Oct 23, 2014
    SouthCentralKY, USA