Clipper advice

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by all1965, Dec 5, 2008.

1. all1965

all1965 New Member

Oct 6, 2007
    AR
    I am trying to find the right clippers for my goats. I need a heavy duty set that runs quiet and cool. The problem I have with the ones I have right now is that they get so hot so fast. Any advice on brand and model? Blades? I raise myotonics and want to clip them to about 1 1/2 to 2 inches for the show ring. We dont clip ours to the skin.

2. cybercat

cybercat Owner of 4 La Manachas.

Oct 17, 2007
    East Tn
    Your best one are Andis Ag super 2 speed or andis AGR+ cordless with ceramic blades. I am a pro pet groomer and have used many types and these are the best by far. The oster golden 5 runs hot way too hot these by andis do not. Best place to get them is Petedge.com it is the groomers catalog.

Good Luck.

Tamara

3. Di

Di Crazy Goat Lady

Jan 29, 2008
    central PA
    Wow, thanks for that info Cybercat. And welcome to The Goat Spot. :clap:

4. FarmGirl18

FarmGirl18 New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Oklahoma
    I love my Andis Super 2 speed, but keep in mind they are a small clipper and take quite some time to body clip a whole goat. They are super quiet though, and don't get too terribly hot.

5. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI
    I agree that andis makes cooler-running clippers. I will never buy Osters again...mine also run super hot...plus they need oiled and greased all the time or they don't run well.

I also agree about the ceramic blades...they stay sharp a lot longer and stay cooler.

6. cybercat

cybercat Owner of 4 La Manachas.

Oct 17, 2007
    East Tn
    One other thing here is a site that has videos that show clipper maintance. They are priceless for keeping your clipper in tip top shape. He will show you why your blades are not cutting right all of a sudden and how to fix it fast cheep and quick.
    He covers both Andis and Oster clippers.