The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
3,540 Posts
Look on YouTube. I think I've seen one there but it is really easy.

I'd be more than happy to explain here how I do it. If I knew how to work YouTube I'd make a video on it. All I can do on it is search and watch videos.

·
Boers & Nubians
1,938 Posts
Dani- if you make a google account (with Gmail), then you will be automatically logged into a Youtube account. You can then go to the top of your Youtube page and hit upload :) It takes 3 hours hour to upload a 5 minute long video, though!

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dani, that would be great if you could! Also I have looked and I just can't find any videos on it! Also, my fair is the very beginning of August when do you think i should start clipping them? This is my first year and I would like to get the hang of it so when fair comes my goats don't look terrible! Thanks!

·
Registered
3,540 Posts
Thanks Katelyn! I'm not good with apps and things like that... I can work my phone enough and the computer enough lol. I may make a couple wether specific videos and highlight the harder parts. Do you guys think it would be helpful? I';m not an expert by any means of the word but I can at least show how I do it.

I know where to stop shaving legs, around the hooves, tail and head can be hard for newbies. Thats where I struggled for a while.... I had some messed up clip jobs before some told me stop here and do this instead... Now its a breeze.

A basic wether clip is all the hair, everywhere EXCEPT below the knees an hock and a little pom pom on the tail. To avoid lines pull the skin taunt... You wont hurt the goat by pinching and pulling his skin. They're pretty tough. I shave the hair around the feet too but its harder because you want to blend it in so its done different. If you not comfortable with clippers yet you can use scissors. I clean up around the hoof and dew claw.

·
Registered
3,540 Posts