Coccidia

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Goober, Aug 21, 2009.

1. Goober

Goober New Member

Aug 21, 2009
    I am new to goats, been in horses and rabbits, and was a small animal tech. Anyway, one of my 2 goats has a ton of coccidia eggs on her fecal. I did one to check on which worms she had (anemic) and came up with about 20 strongyle-type eggs (probably the anemia) and 100-200 coccidia eggs. No diarrhea. Should I treat her anyway? BTW, she is supposed to be bred for the end of October or so. With the dogs and cats, if we found coccidia on an adult (generally 1-2 eggs) we didn't treat as long as there wasn't any diarrhea. Young animal or diarrhea (usually a bunch of eggs) we treated. To treat or not to treat, that is the question.

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    welcome ... Goober....glad you are here.. :wave:

If she is anemic... I would hit the cocci as well...as when her system is so down like that...... she may start developing scours from the cocci.......there are known cases ....that the sign of scours ....sometimes doesn't happen ..and only shows signs of rapid weight loss.....so I personally would treat for both.... I also would give her red cell or something to rebuild her blood.... :hug:

3. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA