Color changes or copper deficiency?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by farmerA, Jun 30, 2020.

1. farmerA

farmerA Active Member

Sep 4, 2019
    Oregon
    Hello. I'm new to goat kids having just had my first five in February and have a question regarding color. All of my goats are Nigerian Dwarfs, if that's relevant.

Three of my kids from the same dam have begun getting brown spots whereas they had previously been fully black. It was suggested to me that they could potentially be copper deficient but they get free choice minerals and replamin gel because we have mineral-rich well water. Also, my other two kids born the day after these are still pure black as are two of my other does that are black. I'm not sure how genetics works regarding coloring but the breeder said she didn't think it was remotely possible for any of them to have brown (this confused me because mom was predominantly black with white but did have some very small brown patches around her legpits and ears). She suggested it was likely either copper deficiency or sun bleaching. But wouldn't either of those be pretty uniform in their fading?

This girl is Lyra. As you can see, the black in her face and her little black boots are still very black but some of her chest coloring it has faded to brown.

20200529_093057.jpg

Another pic where you can see how she looks more brown in the sides as well. She still has a black stripe down her back that's very black.

20200531_115243.jpg

Her sister Ursa has a bit of brown on her face and body as well.

20200520_131549.jpg

Orion, their brother, is all black but has a light brown patch on his belly. I would think his belly would be impossible to be sun-bleached, particularly in one little tiny spot.

20200611_091748.jpg