Color Genetics

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by TroutRiver, Nov 22, 2010.

1. TroutRiver

TroutRiver New Member

Oct 14, 2010
    Hi everyone,

I am still relatively new to the world of dairy goats. I've had my small herd for a few months, and it's been an ongoing learning process (in a good way!). I wasn't entirely sure where to post this, but thought it would be safe to put it here. An admin can feel free to move it if there's a better spot for it.

I am wondering if any of you know much about color genetics in goats? I am asking just because I am curious. I am raising goats for dairy and for meat, and I have sold a couple of the hides from the meat goats to a local drum maker (and hope to start making my own drums at some point in the future). He leaves some of the fur on the edges of the drum heads so you can see the coat color, and I'm curious as to what kinds of color patterns I might expect to get from my 3 girls in the Spring when they kid. Mostly, I'm just over-excited and can't wait to see how the babies look in the spring :dance:

I am going to be using the same buck to breed all 3 does. Skov is a purebred nubian with good dairy lines. He is black with white spots. Below is a link to a picture of a goat that has the same color pattern that he has (but this is a picture that I pulled off of google, I don't have any photos of Skov). He is all black and white except for a small faded patch of brown on one of his ears, just like the goat in the photo. Here's the photo:

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w38/ ... CF4132.jpg