The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3,663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I'm new to breeding/kidding, and just want to get a few things straight. Here we go:

-First of all, I am bottle feeding, so don't criticize my decision, just move on and give me advice if you can. Thank you.
-Second, Do I milk out the colostrum and give it to the kids via bottle, or let them nurse off her for the colostrum then bottle feed them milk
-Third, how long do the kids need to be separated from "mom"? When can I put them back in ten same pen?
-Fourth, teach me everything about the whole milking out, bottle feeding, etc.
-And fifth and finally, how do you pass the time? My doe isn't even bred yet and I can't wait for kids!!!!

·
14,615 Posts
The most critical thing I can say is that they absolutely need that colostrum in the first 24 hours of life.
Whether you milk out mom or put it in bottle is up to you.

·
Registered
3,663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The most critical thing I can say is that they absolutely need that colostrum in the first 24 hours of life.
Whether you milk out mom or put it in bottle is up to you.
Okay. I do know they need if right away or it doesn't take the full effect. Also, what do you guys do for them when you're feeding them every couple hours, do you have them in a special box or something and where? Our garage isn't attached, so not there, but we have an unfinished basement, do people keep bottle babies in there? (In a box or something of course, not just roaming the basement)

·
Premium Member
23,224 Posts
I don't bottle feed but if you are doing it for CAE prevention, you absolutely must not allow kids to nurse mom. Once you know for sure that the doe is in labor, you milk her out totally and heat treat the colostrum to have it ready to feed the newborns and then you'll need to milk the doe out up to 4x a day if she is a heavy producer, sterilize the milk then bottle feed.