commercial meat goat production

Discussion in 'Meat Market' started by Cash, Mar 8, 2010.

1. Cash

Cash New Member

Mar 8, 2010
    If anyone here is a commercial meat goat producer I'd be interested in talking about how you manage your operation. I'm new to this and would love some first hand advise to add to my research. So far I've mostly talked with people who raise goats for show and replacement goats.

Thanks!

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    I know off the top of my head that Sealawyer (Fred Vandermartin) has a commercial operation
    try contacting him

3. KGW Farms

KGW Farms New Member

Nov 24, 2009
    Scales mound, IL
    Most of my goaties go as breeding stock but I occasionally have meat goats. I would be happy to answer any questions I can.

4. Tom Hayden

Tom Hayden New Member

May 10, 2010
    The bigger meat producers here either kid in December or buy male kids then and feed them to 55-60 pounds.They aim to get them to market just before Easter.I kid in February and sell the male kids at the first June auction.Last year mine averaged 55 pounds I think they'll be lighter this year because of cold ,wet,weather.I keep the does and have one or two of the male kids processed for our own use.In this climate ,western Kansas,kidding once a year is the best way to go.It gives the mothers time to recover and get healthy before the snow flies.I have Spanish cross does .I rent a good Boer buck and let him run with them from Sept.15 to Oct.31.

5. Mully

Mully New Member

Jun 23, 2009
    Mt Ulla , NC
    Go here .... lots of good info http://www.boergoats.com/clean/coverpage.php
    I looked into raising meat goats but to be successful you need lots of land because you will need to raise 100 to 200 head and I would have to lease enough property to make it work ... haven given up though.

6. DRJ Ranch

DRJ Ranch New Member

Apr 2, 2010
    Anderson, California