The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Nigerian dwarf doelings I think about 6 months old in these pictures, what are their faults and their strenghths? Also what to look for in a buck to make a better breeding with them in the future when they are ready? I am new to conformation :)

Attachments

·
Raising Nigerian Dwarf DAIRY Goats, registered wit
3,693 Posts
First doe:
Pros: SHE HAS A LONGGGGGGG NECK!
Long bodied
Nice topline
Thick and nicely extended brisket
Long rump. Not too steep

Cons:
Could stand better on her feet

2nd doe:

Level topline
Long neck
Not too long of a body but not too short either.
Nice extended brisket

Cons:
Could stand better. But that may be the way she's standing.

I will also need a better picture of the second does brisket

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Do you think these two doelings would make a good starter herd for registered nigerian dwarfs? I have never shown any goats and I'm not sure I ever will, I honestly just milk but still want to have nice goats to start with.

·
3,693 Posts
Do you think these two doelings would make a good starter herd for registered nigerian dwarfs? I have never shown any goats and I'm not sure I ever will, I honestly just milk but still want to have nice goats to start with.
The first doe would be better fr showing. Pros outweigh the cons on them. It depends on their genetics behind them for milking. I think they are nice goats. Great for starting. Do you know what bloodline they come from?

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·