Conformation?

Discussion in 'Goat Conformation' started by Bree_6293, Dec 15, 2014.

1. Bree_6293

Bree_6293 Briawell6293

Aug 3, 2014
    Australia
    I have a few goats I would like to hear the pros and cons on their conformation. I am new to goats so have no idea about that yet! I am just hoping mine are ok to keep for breeding and showing as I have fallen in love with my herd! They are all australian miniature goats.

First is my newest doe. She is almost 2 years old and picture was taken just after weaning her first kid.
    "Jasmine"
    ImageUploadedByGoat Forum1418678459.656857.jpg

2. Cedar Point Kikos

Cedar Point Kikos Well-Known Member

Oct 16, 2013
    Canada
    Hu, never heard of Australian Miniature goats...anyway, I'll do her from what I know of full size goats :) and hope someone comes up behind me :D

Pros:
    -Deep jaw
    -Sweet face
    -Long muzzle
    -Wide Forehead
    -Cute ears
    -Throat latch looks clean and smooth
    -Neck is smooth and feminine
    -Shoulder is tight with fairly sharp withers
    -Neck/shoulder blends nicely
    -Front legs are smooth and straight
    -Good upright fore pasterns
    -I like her feet
    -Good depth in heart girth
    -Good depth in middle and rear barrel
    -Nice length of chine
    -Good spring of ribs
    -Good body capacity for her size
    -Rump is a nice length
    -Nice incurve to thigh
    -Good width between hocks
    -Strong back legs
    -Back legs are straight without being posty
    -Back pasterns are good
    -Flat boned
    -Good body length

Cons:
    -Head is a bit big for her body, but that might be just the angle of the picture :)
    -Neck is too short
    -Lacks brisket
    -Lacks chest floor
    -Topline is uneven
    -Hips are quite a bit higher then shoulders
    -Rump is steep
    -Lacks heel in her back feet
    -Lacks power in front end assembly

3. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA