congested udder ?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by rgbdab, Apr 24, 2009.

1. rgbdab

rgbdab New Member

Nov 26, 2007
    TEXAS
    I want to massage one of my does udder with peppermint oil, but I'm not sure what "carrier" oil to use. I have peanut oil, canola oil and mineral oil.
    What would be best?
    Can anyone advise me?

Thanks!

Denise

2. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    The mineral oil won't get "sticky" the way the veggie based oils will......I hope she is better for you soon and what makes you feel it is congested udder? Just curious as I've not dealt with it before.

3. rgbdab

rgbdab New Member

Nov 26, 2007
    TEXAS
    Thanks for the reply, so mineral oil would be good?

I am no expert, but I think it may be congested because it is huge, but I can't get out hardly any. It isn't warm but there is a spot abot the size of a quarter that seems rather firm.
    She has kids on her and they seem to be getting plenty of milk but I figure it can't hurt to massage it with a little peppermint oil.
    I raise boers and usually they don't have really large bags like this one does so I am probably being overly concerned.

Thanks again,
    Denise

4. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    So this doe is a dairy doe? How old are the kids?

Just to sort of clarify here...I notice with my Nigi doe, when she is about 2-3 weeks fresh and I start to milk 1x a day, her udder does not "go empty" I get a good deal of milk from her while she still feeds her babies but the mammary glands are "bigger" and fill her udder more than when she is not nursing kids....could be because they are constantly nursing and the demand is so great that the glands enlarge to meet the demand :shrug: After the kids leave and I milk 2x a day, the glandular tissue goes down in size.....and she still gives 2+ quarts a day.

5. rgbdab

rgbdab New Member

Nov 26, 2007
    TEXAS