considering a buck

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by drafthorsechick, Feb 5, 2008.

1. drafthorsechick

drafthorsechick New Member

Oct 15, 2007
    Iowa
    Okay, with all of this goat shopping, I happened across an 11 month old LaMancha buck that has settled two does, and am considering him to use with my girls. My goal is to eventually have all registered LMs, but I'm starting out slow, I guess, with a recorded grade, a boer, and an unknown doe that I'm trying to get purchased and because of my situation won't be too fussy about breed. (Why am I using a boer? Because I found a beautiful painted boer that I just like to look at, the vet tech where I work wants all the doe kids I can raise for her, and I want to raise some pack goat wethers with the bone of the boer and the disposition of the LMs.)

Any thoughts on this guy from these pictures? I know he isn't show clipped or set up the best, but as I've said before, I'm pretty new to this so I'd love some of you gals with much more experience to give me your thoughts on him. Could you also please tell me what his faults are? I'm just trying to learn so it helps to not only hear the good things, but the problem areas as well.

What I see nice about him is he has nice depth of body, his legs are straight (the back one is cocked in the one picture, but I'm sure it's the way he's standing), he has a clean head, and a nice wide chest, especially since he's only 11 months old.

Also, temperment-wise, his owner says he has been through one rut and is a very good natured, well behaved boy--how are bucks to handle? If they have a good temperment will they stay that way, or do they all get kind of rank (er, in disposition, that is--I know they all *smell* rank!) I think it's a little funy that I'll handle a one ton Clyde stud without batting an eyelash, but get a little nervous about having a buck around that probably won't weigh 10% of that! :oops:

I guess it's all in what you know.