The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm fairly new to milking but have learned so much in the past couple months - one of this first things I learned is to not milk into a plastic feed bucket :) Oh that first taste of my girls milk was VERY disappointing.
Second in those early lessons was the importance of cooling the milk quickly. I've tried several different methods but a couple weeks ago I went to a ADGA show to learn and ask lots of questions.
One very nice woman told me she freezes water bottles and puts those bottles in her buckets and just milks on to the ice. I did it and woohoo my milk is just about refrigerator cold by the time I get to the house.
I wash the bottles with my buckets and strainers and then just put them back in the freezer. I've not had any off tasting milk because of the bottles (we won't discuss the milk that tastes like the buck I'm leasing:laugh:). But I know the plastic bottles will only hold out for so long.
I did try ziplock bags full of ice and that works well but milking 3 goats 2xs a day uses a lot of bags! So I think I'm going to try freezing quart jars of water.
My question is I've read a lot of different ways to cool milk on this forum and nobody does this. There has to be a reason why and I'm wondering what it is....

·
Registered
1,319 Posts
we take our milk bottles and a bucket of ice to the barn. of course with winter staring us down we wont be needing the ice just put it in the snow bank!! i like your idea but would have to use glass ice jars

·
Registered
1,920 Posts