The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to owning goats and I have six mini-Nubian kids that I got earlier this spring. I live in a VERY rainy area with mineral-deficient soil and we've been struggling with issues of copper deficiency - lightening hair on some of them, some trouble putting on weight, etc. I dosed them all with the 2g caps of Copasure three weeks ago. In the meantime some of them have put on a substantial amount of weight and seem markedly healthier. But some of the others don't seem to have had a noticeable effect - the roots on the hair of the light patches look the same and they are still growing at a slower rate than I would hope.

I'm worried about one in particular, who's the smallest - her deficiency symptoms have gotten worse in the past three weeks since we did the Copasure, like she now has a noticeable "fishtail" which she didn't before. I know it hasn't been very long, but I'm wondering if I should redose her and get more copper into her system. If she is still copper deficient I don't want to wait, she's young and small and I want to her to have the best start during her growing period that she can, but I'm worried about giving her too much and it being a toxic dose, too. There's just so much conflicting information out there about this, and our vet is no help on this issue. Theoretically this dose should have been enough based on the 1g/22lbs rule, but....

She only weighs 31 lbs - the other goats I'm still concerned about are closer to 40. I'm very confident in the quality of their diet in general, and they are doing well in terms of worm load right now so I don't think that's the issue either.

I'd appreciate any insight into this.

·
I'm watching you
22,273 Posts