Copper deficient

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Jojokeke1112, May 9, 2020.

1. Jojokeke1112

Jojokeke1112 New Member

May 3, 2020
    Maine
    Hi I raise Nigerian dwarf goats but I am new to it. I also have sheep. So I feed them a all stock feed. I noticed my does fur and skin look dry and color faded. and she’s been looking tired. They got vaccinated 2 weeks ago and dewormed. I’m thinking copper deficient. They have a mineral and salt block and also loose minerals and baking soda. I just gave them today a copper bolus. However she ate and then I gave it to her. So my question is should I give it to her again? Incase it didn’t get absorbed? I don’t want to give her too much copper either. And do u have any suggestions for food? Thanks so much

2. Jojokeke1112

Jojokeke1112 New Member

May 3, 2020
    Maine
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

3. Goatzrule

Goatzrule Well-Known Member

Feb 7, 2013
    New England
    Faded would be a sign of copper but dry skin might be a zinc deficiency. What do you give for minerals?

4. Jojokeke1112

Jojokeke1112 New Member

May 3, 2020
    Maine

5. Jojokeke1112

Jojokeke1112 New Member

May 3, 2020
    Maine
    I give them manna pro goat mineral and vitamins it’s in an orange bag. I buy it at agway.

6. Jojokeke1112

Jojokeke1112 New Member

May 3, 2020
    Maine
    It’s free choice minerals.

7. SalteyLove

SalteyLove Well-Known Member

Jun 18, 2011
    New England
    How much does she weigh and which size copper bolus did you give?
    No worries about the food beforehand.

Are you able to post any photos of her?

toth boer goats likes this.
  8. Jojokeke1112

Jojokeke1112 New Member

May 3, 2020
    Maine
    I can’t figure out how to post pictures. She is 2.5 years old. Weighs roughly about 80 lbs ish. Give or take. She’s small but stalky. I gave her 2 of the 2gram bolis. It said 1 pill per every 25lbs.

9. SalteyLove

Jun 18, 2011
    New England