The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still new to goats, so my question is. Does this doe need copper? She's a 2 year old Nubian. She could be pregnant, if she is pregnant she is about 2 months.
Plant Vertebrate Wood Liver Working animal

·
Registered
2,005 Posts
Can you post some more pics of her whole body? Does she have loose minerals available and if so, what kind?

Reactions: friesian49

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
Does she actually eat it! That's an ok mineral, I have good luck with one from my local grain elevator... others use something called sweetlix with good success! She may need a copper bolus, seem to have a little bit of a fishtail started.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Does she actually eat it! That's an ok mineral, I have good luck with one from my local grain elevator... others use something called sweetlix with good success! She may need a copper bolus, seem to have a little bit of a fishtail started.
She eats it ok. I've never gave copper before and the videos I have watched doesn't make it look easy at all. Is there a easier way to give it?

·
Registered
2,005 Posts

·
Super Moderator
32,237 Posts
Fish tail takes some time to correct after copper and some never correct. I would go by more than just the tail to copper. When was she last given copper and what dose. She looks very shiny but the picture showing her top makes the coat look like it's starting to get wavy, but hard to really see. A few things to look for,
Fish tail
Coarse coat
Hair tips crooked (like singed hair)
Coat may get wavy like
Color fades, like black to red..red to orange..ect
milk production drops

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·