The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys! This is my first time posting here, though I've been reading other people's threads for a long time.:) Just a few days ago, I dosed my whole herd with the Copasure copper boluses, but I noticed that the package says "No other copper supplementation should be given immediately prior to or 6 months after administration of the capsule." This got me wondering... My goats are definitely showing signs of being deficient, and in my area (Northern NY), we are subject to both primary and secondary deficiency, because our water is FULL of iron. Now I'm questioning whether the Copasure will be sufficient. My instinct is to continue giving them loose minerals, but I'm afraid of overdoing it and ending up with copper poisoning. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
Goat Mentor
7,342 Posts
Your instinct is correct.

It is fine, it is safe.

YOU MUST continue loose minerals.

I give loose minerals, copper bolus, and Replamin gel all together because of our water.

And I’d be open to giving more copper, too! That’s how safe copper boluses are and that’s how necessary that much copper is.

·
Registered
8,834 Posts
Sometimes package directions are spot on. Sometimes the direction are spot off. Thanks for coming here and checking.

If your goat is showing deficiency signs, then the regular copper source is insufficient. So continuing that insufficient source isn't going to cause a toxicity, and taking away that insufficient source isn't going to prevent a toxicity. Make sense now?

If not, think of it this way... Many people take a multivitamin, but when they feel under the weather, they'll reach for extra vitamin C. However, they'll still keep taking that multivitamin, won't they? They aren't going to deprive themselves of all the other nutrition just because they grabbed an extra orange that morning...

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·