The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
LDS homeschool mom of 6
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We live near Austin and my goats are showing signs of copper deficiency. I am a goat newbie and have only just learned what the signs are, so I don't know if they have developed them in the last couple of months with us or if they already existed when we got them. Minor fishtail on two of the four, copper flanks on black goat. I would like my Alpine female to become pregnant and want to address her copper needs first.

I shop at Tractor Supply, and they have no copper products at all. I asked for an onyx cattle block, Copasure boluses, BoSe injections, or any copper supplement, they had nothing. I made sure they understood I wanted cattle supplies, so if TSC has these I would love to know specifics to ask for.

Where do I purchase the supplies? I prefer to shop in stores than online if possible.

Where do I get my soil tested? Or can I assume based on location and symptoms?

How do I weigh them so I can start to learn what doses of wormers and copper to give them? Or can I assume by breed and age?

Thanks!

·
Goatless goat momma
7,838 Posts
I don't live in the US, so I can't help you with where to get your copper or how to have your soil tested.

for weight, depends on what kind of goat you have. there's a weight chart from Fias Co Farm http://fiascofarm.com/goats/weight-chart.htm, but that's only for standard diary breeds. if you have other breeds, then google for a goat weight chart.

·
Goat Feeder
1,416 Posts